Tag Archives: Test 3

Farrell wins battle of the boot as Lions beat Crusaders in Christchurch scalp

By Thomas Branston


Owen Farrell helped the British and Irish Lions beat the unbeaten Super Rugby side Crusaders in a battle of the boot.

The Lions fly-half secured four from five penalties as they came away with a 12-3 win at the AMI Stadium in Christchurch to get their second win of the tour.

Crusaders fly-half Richie Mo’unga did get the hosts on the scoresheet in the first-half as they trailed 9-3 at half-time.

Farrell secured the match with nine minutes to go as he slotted the easiest of his penalties on the day, right in front of the posts from close range to secure a scalp for the Lions.


Warren Gatland started arguably his strongest team of the series to match the pace, creativity and strength of an unbeaten Crusaders side and it proved crucial as the Lions produced an improved performance against Super Rugby’s in-form outfit.

In a very tight game played upon a greasy surface, it came down to the penalty count and if it weren’t for the Crusaders attacking, try-scoring mentality the game could have been a lot closer on the scoresheet.

Owen Farrell kicked three from four attempts in the first period for the Lions while Richie Mo’unga slotted one for the Crusaders before half-time.

The England fly-half then added a crucial penalty with nine minutes to play to ease the pressure on the Lions.

The win inflicted a first defeat on the New Zealanders this season and a first under Head Coach Scott Robertson, and the revitalised Lions will now move on to face the Highlanders in Dunedin on Tuesday.


BNZ Crusaders vs the British and Irish Lions: Everything you need to know

By Thomas Branston

Israel Dagg named in starting XV to face the Lions.

The British and Irish Lions travel to Christchurch to face the BNZ Crusaders at the AMI Stadium on Saturday as they look to bounce back from their recent defeat to the Blues in Auckland.

Warren Gatland has named his squad ahead of the tie and Welsh lock Alun Wyn Jones will captain the side that includes Owen Farrell and George North, who will make their first starts of this tour.

The hosts will make history on Saturday when they will face up against the Lions for the first time.

BNZ Crusaders Head Coach Scott Robertson has named a strong side which includes nine All Blacks that have been named in Steve Hansen’s 33-man squad set to face the Lions in the test series.

The squad also includes full-back Israel Dagg who will be a familiar face to the Lions and a backline brimming with the exciting young Super Rugby talent.

Alun Wyn Jones will lead the Lions out in Christchurch on Saturday. 

Gatland has rung the changes again for the third game of the tour seeing the starting pack being replaced from the Blues defeat. England and Saracens pair Mako Vunipola and Jamie George come into the front row with Leinster’s Tadhg Furlong.

Alun Wyn Jones will lead the side and will partner up with George Kruis whilst Ireland’s Peter O’Mahony and Sean O’Brien will be either side of Taulupe Faletau  in the back row.

The backline has also seen everyone replaced from the last game with a new halfback partnership in Conor Murray and Owen Farrell.

Worcester’s Ben Te’o and Jonathan Davies will pair up in midfield with the backline being made up of Liam Williams who was shown a yellow card against the Blues, George North and Stuart Hogg.


BNZ Crusaders | 15. Israel Dagg 14. Seta Tamanivalu, 13. Jack Goodhue, 12. David Havili, 11. George Bridge, 10. Richie Mo’ung, 9. Bryn Hall; 1. Joe Moody, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Luke Romano, 5. Sam Whitelock (C), 6. Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 7. Matt Todd (VC), 8. Jordan Taufua

Replacements | 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Michael Alaalatoa, 19. Quinten Strange, 20. Jed Brown, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. Tim Bateman

British and Irish Lions | 15. Stuart Hogg, 14. George North, 13.  Jonathan Davies, 12. Ben Te’o, 11. Liam Williams, 10. Owen Farrell, 9. Conor Murray; 1. Mako Vunipola, 2. Jamie George, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Alun Wyn Jones (C), 5. George Kruis, 6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Sean O’Brien, 8. Taulupe Faletau

Replacements |16. Ken Owens, 17. Jack McGrath, 18. Dan Cole, 19. Maro Itoje, 20. CJ Stander, 21. Rhys Webb, 22. Johnny Sexton, 23. Anthony Watson