Eddie Jones names England squad to face Argentina

By Thomas Branston

Dylan Hartley captains the side in their first test against Argentina. 

Eddie Jones has named his 23-man squad to face Argentina in San Juan on Saturday and the Australian will hand debuts to Tom Curry, Alex Lozowski, Harry Williams and Mark Wilson.

Dylan Hartley will make his 85th cap for England as he captains an altered side for the first of two tests against the Pumas.

Jones has also named seven uncapped players on the bench including Northampton Saints new signing Piers Francis, who joined up with the squad on Monday evening from Auckland, and Denny Solomona, who has recovered from his foot injury that almost ended his chance of touring.

Other uncapped players include Worcester’s Jack Singleton, Will Collier, Saracens lock Nick Isiekwe, and Exeter Chiefs pair Don Armand and Jack Maunder.

England side to face Argentina | 15. Mike Brown, (VC), 14. Marland Yarde, 13. Henry Slade, 12. Alex Lozowski, 11. Jonny May, 10. George Ford (VC), 9. Danny Care (VC); 1. Ellis Genge, 2. Dylan Hartley (C), 3. Harry Williams, 4. Joe Launchbury, 5. Charlie Ewels, 6. Mark Wilson, 7. Tom Curry, 8. Nathan Hughes

Replacements | 16. Jack Singleton, 17. Matt Mullan, 18. Will Collier, 19. Nick Isiekwe, 20. Don Armand, 21. Jack Maunder, 22. Piers Francis, 23. Denny Solomona


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s