England handed ‘Group of Death’ at Rugby World Cup draw

By Thomas Branston


Eddie Jones was present at the Kyoto State Guest House, Japan, where England were handed another ‘group of death’ in the Pool stages for a second consecutive World Cup.

England will face France, Argentina and the winner of Americas 1 and Oceania 1. Just two years ago at the 2015 World Cup, England were grouped with Australia and Wales and failed to reach the knockout stages.

The likely opponents could be USA Rugby and Samoa, both would add to the pressure Jones’ side already face.

Eddie Jones said: “We want to win the World Cup in 2019, and to win it, we need to be ready to play and beat anyone.

“Our pool will be highly competitive and full of intensity, as a World Cup group should be.

“History shows that you need to win seven games to win the tournament and we will greatly respect every team we play.”

In other Pools, the hosts Japan will face up against Ireland and Scotland and the winner of Europe 1 and Play-Off Winner.

Meanwhile, Wales have drawn Australia for the second successive World Cup. Georgia are also in Pool D, with the most likely opponents qualifying through Oceania 1 being Fiji accompanied by Americas 2 which could be Uruguay or Canada.

Pool B offers a mouthwatering clash between holders New Zealand and their fellow twice world champions South Africa, whilst Italy make up that group so far.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s